DUI FAQ

Being charged with a driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) in Minnesota is a serious event, and the consequences can be life-changing.

At Ed Shaw Law, our attorneys can help you navigate the waters of your DWI charge and help you get back to living your life. There will be some challenges ahead, but with the proper representation and guidance you can make it through this trying time with dignity and respect. Protect your rights and contact our skilled attorneys at 800-507-0352 today for a free consultation. We have offices in Brainerd and St. Cloud.

Here are the answers to some questions we often receive from our clients:

What is going to happen to my license?

A DWI often leads to a loss of your license, at least temporarily, and protecting your ability to drive is one important reason to talk to an attorney who can prepare a strong defense against DWI charges. Even a first offense can result in a 90-day license suspension.

I drive for a living. Will I lose my CDL?

Minnesota law is tougher on commercial drivers, enforcing a .04 blood alcohol content (BAC) limit instead of the .08 for other drivers. If you are convicted of DWI, you could lose your commercial driver's license for a year or longer.

Will I need an interlock device?

In some cases, you maintain your driving privileges after a DWI if you install an ignition interlock device in your car that you must blow into before you can start your car.

Am I going to go to jail?

For your first offense, you still face the possibility of jail time of up to 90 days. For repeat offenses, Minnesota imposes mandatory minimum jail time, but there may be options for reducing jail time by performing community service work.

How much is this going to cost me?

Fines for a DWI range from $1,000 for a first offense to as much as $14,000 in Minnesota, but the financial effects can be much greater if a DWI conviction affects your ability to work. At Ed Shaw Law, we do everything we can to mitigate the financial effects of a DWI, and we are aware of the financial strain of criminal charges. To help alleviate some of the financial stress, we offer free initial consultations, affordable fees and flexible payment plans.

I just got pulled over for a DWI. What should I do now?

Your first call should be to a criminal defense lawyer. Remember that you should not give any kind of statement to law enforcement without a lawyer present. To give yourself the best possible shot at defending against a DWI charge, call us right away at 800-507-0352.