If you have been arrested for and charged with a sexual offense in Minnesota, you will want to understand some of the consequences that you may experience should your arrest result in a conviction.
Some sex crime convictions require that the person participate in the state’s sex offender registry program. This program entails many requirements. Violations of these requirements may lead to subsequent penalties.
Sex offender registry duration
According to the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, the minimum length of time a person ordered to register as a sex offender must do so is 10 years. Some people must maintain their registrations for life.
Types of violations
Every person participating in the registry program must update their information when they change jobs, move residences, start or stop school. They must also provide details about any vehicle they drive or own. Failing to keep these details up to date may result in a violation of the program requirements.
Penalties for violations
Any failure to maintain updated information with the sex offender registry program may result in the defendant serving more time in prison. This may be for a minimum of 366 days and possibly longer. Additional time will be added to their registry requirement in five-year increments per violation. When a person serving time for such a violation leaves prison, their initial registry term starts over.
This information is not intended to provide legal advice but is instead meant to help residents in Minnesota who have been convicted of sex crimes understand the nuances of the requirements involved with registering as a sex offender.